guest reviews - villa belong dua
Villa Belong Dua – Seseh, Bali 2 bedroom private villa Villa Belong Dua – Seseh, Bali 2 bedroom private villa

Villa Belong Dua offers guests total immersion in the beauty of the Bali countryside; an opportunity to gain privileged insights into the Balinese Hindu lifestyle and experience the warm hospitality, history and culture of this unique tropical island.

Not so long ago, stone water vessels (belongs) could be found in every Balinese household; used to store water for drinking and washing. These essential household accoutrements are showcased within the grounds of Villa Belong Dua along with a traditional thatched Balinese rice barn from the village; now more often used as a playhouse, but once a symbol of social status indicating the ownership of precious rice-fields.

Built based on a time-honoured Balinese compound design, Villa Belong Dua offers guests the luxuries of space, comfort and privacy. Two charming bedroom pavilions and open-sided living and dining areas are adorned with black and white prints of rural life, ancient maps of Dutch Batavia and enchanting portraits, and all are encircled by a delightful, mature walled garden planted with mango, lemon, avocado and jackfruit trees. A generous, 20-metre-long swimming pool stretches out alongside an antique balé gede (originally built as a two-bedroom village home). Facilities within the villa include complimentary WiFi internet, LCD screen satellite-channel TVs and DVD players, an iPod with three docking stations, and a well-equipped kitchen.

A team of experienced staff, including a skilled chef, extend their hospitality to guests, providing full housekeeping services and preparing meals from a suggestion menu of Asian and Western fare. The villa manager is also on hand to assist guests and ensure that all expectations are met – if not exceeded.

Belong Dua is located in the charming seaside village of Seseh, home to a revered beach temple where colourful ceremonies are regularly held. A nearby pathway offers walks to the river, rice fields, temple and beach, which is only 300 metres from the villa.

Villa Belong Dua
8 out of 10 based on 1 user reviews.
US$ 335++ US$ 475++ out of 1

Guest reviews

May 2nd, 2017 - May 7th, 2017

“This is our second visit to Villa Belong Dua and I'm sure it won't be our last. Always exceeds our expectation in service and comfort. Arya, Fran and all the staff go out of their way to ensure our comfort. Beautiful place, beautiful people.”

Maureen. Elizabeth O, Australia

April 6th, 2017 - April 17th, 2017

“Our sincerest thanks and appreciation for making our 1st visit to Bali so memorable. Belong Dua has a very special energy that could not be put into words. We relished everyday (and moment) in this unequaled botanical and architectural paradise. Special thank you to Arya for making our every wish come true.”

Donald R, Australia

March 19th, 2017 - March 29th, 2017

“Thank you for the most amazing 10 days in your little piece of paradise. We loved being here, the amazing house, the staff and Arya and Fran's wonderful smiles. The incredible food and warm hospitality will be taken with our memory for many years. Your island is made more beautiful by your gracious and deep spirituality. Thank you.”

Christian Q, South Africa

March 15th, 2017 - March 19th, 2017

“This is our second stay here at beautiful Villa Belong Dua! Your experience here will speak for itself as word do no justice to the "specialness" at your feet. Many thanks to our staff they are all so thoughtful and accommodating! Make sure you get Francis to cook for you. Meals are a culinary WOW!!! We will back.”

Kerrie S, Australia

February 25th, 2017 - March 1st, 2017

“We would like to thank you all for "perfect" stay in this wonderful house! We are Belgium family from Antwep and working many years in the furniture and decoration business. We love the architecture and every detail in this house! Just fantastic. The staff is so friendly and make our stay unforgettable. The cook is a man with premium for his job! It was delicious - the best food we have in Bali! We will come again! We love yoga and the garden is just the prefect place to feel connected with nature! Thank you again - all of you for spoiling us so much!!”

Jan I, Belgium

January 1st, 2017 - January 11th, 2017

“We would like thank you for making our stay in Bali so enjoyable. The villa is very beautiful, combining elements of traditional Balinese and modern architecture. The staff is lovely, always smiling, kind and ready to help. Breakfast and dinner were exceptional compare to the meals in the best restaurant. Once again thank you for making our stay in beautiful Bali unforgettable!”

Aleksandra K, Poland

October 9th, 2016 - October 15th, 2016

“Another lovely week for us at Villa Belong Dua. A tropical Oasis - amazing garden, lovely pool and an incredibility kind and welcoming staff. Our fourth stay and we'll surely be back! THIS IS VILLA IS A GEM.”

Stephanie H, Hong Kong

September 28th, 2016 - October 1st, 2016

“We had fabulous time at Villa Belong Dua. Beautiful accommodation, flawless design and glorious swimming pool. Most of all, the amazing staff were so welcoming and helpful and always smiling . Thank you so much to Arya and the team for making our stay so special . WE WILL BE BACK.”

Sara S, Australia

September 6th, 2016 - September 11th, 2016

“Thank you very much for a wonderful and peaceful stay at Villa Belong Dua. We enjoyed the wonderful garden and house and pool! All the staff is very nice and gave us a very warm welcome. Special thanks to Frans who does a great job - an had expert in the field. His seafood barbecue was really outstanding. See you next time!”

Michael S, Germany

September 3rd, 2016 - September 6th, 2016

“WOW! What an amazing 3 days at Villa Belong Dua. The Villa itself was spectacular, rustic yet modern, quaint yet spacious and surrounded with lush greenery which blended into our mood. The staff were equally amazing. We wanted for nothing. We were only here for 3 days, but it felt like more. Special mention to Arya, for being so accommodating and explaining so much to us about Bali. And to Frans, what an amazing chef, our plan was to visit some restaurants in the area for dinner but your food was so good, we couldn't bring ourselves to try something else. ”

Colette W, Singapore

August 28th, 2016 - September 2nd, 2016

“Nothing more to say than - Thank You. Thank you for your smile. A space so quite. A space to be out of the world. A space to feel really good. ”

Deladriere H, Singapore

August 26th, 2016 - August 28th, 2016

“We had a wonderful stay at Villa Belong Dua. The location is private and peaceful. The staff were all attentive, friendly and caring. We wish we could stay longer. Our stay was relaxing and rejuvenating . We can't wait to return!”

Christopher B, Australia

August 16th, 2016 - August 21st, 2016

“There is only one simple word to describe the place and staff - PERFECT. Thank you.”

Tomoko O, Hong Kong

July 29th, 2016 - August 3rd, 2016

“Thank you to all the staff at Villa Belong Dua. You have been very attentive and allowed us to enjoy a relaxing stay. Arya welcome us very warmly and organised everything we asked for with care. Frans and his team created delicious meals that our group appreciated at the times that suited us, including help with food for a 9 month old baby. We wish the team continued success at this lovely location.”

Duncan B, Australia

July 18th, 2016 - July 21st, 2016

“We hate to be leaving such a special, beautiful and peaceful place. We enjoyed every relaxing minute, its hard to find a place authentic and truly Balinese as this. The Generosity and kindness of the staff was a gift we especially enjoyed and the amazing dinners prepared by Franz. Long evenings at the dinner table with such delicious food and ice cold Bintang will be a great memory. The peaceful setting and relaxing environment were just what we needed. Thank to everyone for making our stay truly priceless. We hope be back one day soon!”

Todd C, United States

June 15th, 2016 - June 19th, 2016

“Thank you for making our vacation an amazing one. Villa Belong Dua is truly made gorgeous by the warm and happiness of the staff. We hope to back in the near future.”

Thomas K, Singapore

May 30th, 2015 - June 3rd, 2015

“We only stayed four nights at Villa Belong Dua and wished we could extend our stay for much longer. My wife and I have travelled to Bali quite a few times and this villa and its staff are clearly the best we have ever encountered. The villa itself is set in a nice and quite gong. The architecture is refined and done with great traditional Balinese taste. Everything about this villa is an invitation to peace and tranquility. Sainna (not sure this spelled correctly), the villa manager, is very discrete and helpful in making your stay as enjoyable as possible. Francis, the chef, is very friendly and very skilled at preparing all sorts of meals from traditional Indonesian food to more European style cuisine. We strongly recommend you try out the fish BBQ!!! All in all we had a great stay and bring with us some great memories. We will try our best to come back soon. Cheers Felix and Sophie”

Felix Cartoux, Singapore

September 22nd, 2014 - October 1st, 2014

“The pictures of Belong Dua do not lie. It is a truly stunning villa that will suit those looking for complete luxurious relaxation in a quiet Balinese village.”

Shaun B, Australia

September 8th, 2014 - September 14th, 2014

“Our second visit to this wonderful Villa in Seseh; waking up to the sounds of chickens and pigs; the wonderful Balinese architecture; swimming in the pool; a lovely breakfast; strolling through the village and along the black sand on the beach; bike rides through the rice fields and nearby villages; lunch at the Villa, lounging around the pool, pre dinner drinks and dinner. The fantastic staff including chef makes for a truly restful and enjoyable holiday. We look forward to our next visit! ”

Gordon T, Indonesia

August 2nd, 2014 - August 16th, 2014

“It was perfect on every Way! Wonderful trip, house, people... Here every thing is order, and beauty, Lux, calm and voluptee...”

Charlotte Marechal, France

May 22nd, 2014 - May 29th, 2014

“Villa Belong Dua was amazing. The property grounds are stunning as is the pool area. The day bed is an absolute highlight. We spent hours relaxing on that and it comfortably fit 4 adults and an active 9 month baby. We loved the property so much that we literally didn't leave except to stock up on drinks at the local shop. The food prepared by Frans was delicious and I highly recommend the seafood banquet. There is one area where I believe there could be improvement. The manager needs to be more pro active in the small things. An example is that we had to request mosquito coils to be set up every single night. I would expect things like this to be done without the guest asking for an elite property like this. I highly recommend this property, we would all love to come back in the future.”

Evelyn R, Australia

April 26th, 2014 - April 28th, 2014

“Amazing villa and unforgetable honey moon here, highly recommend”

QINGYUN Z,

November 13th, 2013 - November 16th, 2013

“Staff were amazing, everything as advertised was as is. My only complaint was the noise off the roosters. I would highly recommend this villa.”

Danielle L, Australia

September 13th, 2013 - September 19th, 2013

“Our stay at Villa Belong Dua was a truly wonderful experience, which lacked nothing to create an ideal luxury holiday. Located within a Bali Village, with the sights and sounds of village life was unique. The Villa itself and the staff were fantastic. We look forward to returning soon. ”

Gordon T, Australia

September 8th, 2013 - September 13th, 2013

“Villa Belong Dua is just stunning. The grounds are immaculate and really feels very special having it all to yourself. Loved having our own chef and other staff to look after us! The rooms are beautiful and beds very comfortable. Roosters make a lot of noise in the morning but expected this being in a smaller village. We didn't expect the noise from local dogs which was far louder than the roosters and kept us awake most of the first night. Take earplugs with you! Also suggest putting young children in the smaller bedroom as this is not so noisy. Loved having the option of watching dvd's in the indoor, air-conditioned media room as well as both bedrooms. Outdoor living area is just lovely and a great place to sit and read a book looking over the pool once the kids are in bed. We all loved the pool which is huge and has a small shallow section for the little kids. Also enjoyed the massage (booked by villa staff at my request) in the poolside bale - cheap too at 110,000 IDR for an hour (about AU$11) - far cheaper than any other villa/hotel we have stayed at in Bali. Kids had lots of fun watching the geckos, lizards and butterflies around the property. Great having free wifi but found connection quite inconsistent. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.”

Emma P, Australia

June 24th, 2013 - July 1st, 2013

“Lovely staff and a relaxing ambience make this a great spot to get away from the world. A short walk to the beach, a shorter walk to a local temple, and surrounded by rice paddies and the ocean, this was a great location to experience Bali in a bygone era. Nice to relax in the Bale or read a book in the media room or on the open air pavilion day bad, and simply watch the day pass. Staff were able to arrange in villa massage, a nice start to the day!”

Shari T, Australia

April 28th, 2013 - May 12th, 2013

“We would like to thank you very much for the lovely, tranquil and relaxing 2-week stay we experienced at Villa Belong Dua which is situated in the midst of a very tidy, quaint traditional village. The expansive, immaculate tropical garden and pool allowed us to escape from the everyday hectic of normal life and we thoroughly were able to relax in such lovely surroundings and essentially that is what a holiday should be about. The staff was very friendly and attentive in a discrete way, never obtrusive but quickly available if needed. Thank you for placing all those phone-calls and for the beautiful flower arrangement for our son’s birthday. The magnificent and well-appointed bedrooms and air-conditioned WC and vanity area was well-appreciated as was the gorgeous outdoor shower area. Our special requests for breakfast (chili, tomato and onion omelettes) were always met. The food that Frans prepared was delicious, as was the satay from the lady in Munggu. The attached driver, Made, was excellent, always on time and chauffeured us safely through the maddening traffic of Bali for sightseeing, shopping and to fabulous restaurants in the evenings. All in all, our stay was just perfect. We will surely be back !”

Peter W, Switzerland

March 15th, 2013 - March 21st, 2013

“Great villa, great location for real Bali! Stuff did take great care of us, cook was amazing, i wish we could enjoy more of his cooking! Just be ready fo roosters at night;-)! ”

RM, United States

February 15th, 2013 - February 20th, 2013

“magnificent villa the pictures on the website do not do it justice will definatly go back recommend to all”

RA, Australia

December 8th, 2012 - December 14th, 2012

“The villa is stunning and located in a village close to paddy fields so it was lovely to hear the crows of the cockerel in the morning. The pool was warm so it was perfect for our baby to swim in. The chef was great and prepared tasty Indonesian/Balinese as well as Italian meals (his specialty). The staff were friendly. The outdoor shower was simply gorgeous. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The beach is within walking distance but not really suitable for swimming as the waves were pretty strong and there are probably more scenic ones in nearby Seminyak.”

Sharifah Syed Mohsen, Singapore

December 1st, 2012 - December 5th, 2012

“Villa belong Dua was exactly what we needed for relaxation and to spend time with our ckildren (3 1/2 and 19 months). The village with no tourists was ideal. The childrens splash section of the pool was perfet and made swimming enjoyable and relaxing for everyone. The gardens were perfect- especially for fairy hunting and flower picking! At first I was concerned about the 2 beedrooms. However, the children were set up in a small room attached to the main bedroom which surpassed my expectations. It meant they were close to us and in the same building, yet we still had privacy. To say the food was great is an understatment- the Chef was excellent and even my fussy girls ate everything up! Staff were very helpful, polite and respected our privacy and independence. I would highly recommend Villa Belong Dua to families wanting to get away from everything, focus on the children and sneak in some adult RnR too! ”

SS

November 1st, 2012 - November 8th, 2012

“We (two couples) spent a wonderful week in this beautiful villa in rural surroundings. A better place for relaxation and recreation is hard to find. Everything was up to and some even beyond our expectations, i.e.how our privacy was cherished. The very attentive staff provided us with everything we could request and did so always with a warm smile. All places were properly taken care of, clean, tidy, i.e. fresh towels up to three times a day, chef Franz provided excellent food, all requests were responded in a timely manner. We wholeheartly can recommend Villa Belong Dua and looking forward to find an opportunity to come back.”

LA, Singapore

October 28th, 2012 - October 31st, 2012

“Great team of staff led by Arianna who made our stay extremely comfortable. We had private yoga classes in the villa with the perfect setting, as well as private massage by the pool. Location is far from the action in Bali, but the villa was so comfortable that we didn't yearn to spend much time beyond the villa! We will definitely be back!”

Kathy Lim, Singapore

October 16th, 2012 - October 21st, 2012

“We loved the setting and the style of the villa. The garden is simply a paradise. The outdoor areas really relaxed and lovely. Rooms are functional and the little balconies in front of each villa just lovely. We would recommend the villa highly . The only drawback is the traffic - If you get the timing wrong it takes quite some time to Seminyak. The villa is ideal for people who just want to relax in the garden and are not keen on beach and with a pool that size you frankly don't need it. We had a wonderful time. The chef is excellent and we simply enjoyed every dish he cooked - all Indonesian dishes. ”

Franziska Willi, Singapore

September 24th, 2012 - October 2nd, 2012

“Thank you for a very relaxing and comfortable stay at Villa Belong Dua. Great friendly staff who could not have been more helpful. Our first stay in Bali was a wonderful experience. We will be back!”

Judy & Warwick Carr, Australia

June 24th, 2012 - June 30th, 2012

“Beautiful spacious villa. The most outstanding aspect is the quality of the staff lead by the fantastic villa manager, Sainna. Quite simply there were no limits to their efforts to make us comfortable. ”

James O Brien, Ireland

February 18th, 2012 - February 20th, 2012

“Everything about this villa was wonderful. The staff, led by manager Rahmat, were ever attentive but perfectly discreet. The villa is maintained to an exceptional standard, and the grounds and pool are lovely. Franz, the chef, is included in the price and you only have to pay for groceries and any drinks you may consume. We had very relaxing massages and beauty treatments in the antique bale which were also very well priced. Over all, we had a delightful stay, and I just wish it could have been for longer. I only gave the kitchen 9 because we couldn't find the tea!”

MS, Australia

February 9th, 2012 - February 13th, 2012

“Beautiful and amazing. We loved our stay at Villa Belong Dua...peaceful and traditional but with the comforts of some modern convenciences. The staff were outstanding and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. If you want to experience a different Bali to the hustle and bustle of the regular tourist traps then Villa Belong Dua is ideal.”

SK

February 3rd, 2012 - February 6th, 2012

“Villa Belong Dua represents a unique opportunity for foreigners to experience Balinese village life more intimately than the conventional hotel/resort complexes.”

DP

December 11th, 2011 - December 18th, 2011

“Great villa with really nice staff especially the manager Rhamat with whom we had really interested conversations. The house is really clean and well maintened. We appreciatted the discretion of the staff. We will come back if we can.”

BV

December 1st, 2011 - December 8th, 2011

“We had a wonderful time at Villa Belong Dua - the staff were all fantastic! The only down side (and it was only very minor) were the roosters and dogs barking. But the opportunity to stay in a tranquil village setting far from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Seminyak more than made up for it!! Thank-you to everyone involved in organising our holiday - from Nia who booked it, Rahmat, the manager and all the wonderful support staff. You made our stay truly memorable :-)”

Turner Gillian, Australia

November 6th, 2011 - November 13th, 2011

“The villa was exactly as described and it more than met our expectations. Comfortable, spacious, incredibly friendly staff, excellent food. The gardens and buildings are well-maintained and it is very easy to get used to having so many people waiting on you hand and foot (that's how it feels!). The drive to Seminyak can be slow due to traffic so this villa will be best for people who are happy to stay put. The nearby beach is a bit littered so stick to the pool. ”

YJ, United Kingdom

November 2nd, 2011 - November 5th, 2011

“One of the best places in the world we ever stayed in ! Very high value for money, staff has a high professionel level and tries to please the guest to the most. I can only recommend this to everyone who thinks of staying in the south of Bali, without the hussle and bussle of Kuta or the other southern places. Beautiful place, beautiful people.”

Bart Elsen, Belgium

June 26th, 2011 - July 3rd, 2011

“We had a fantastic stay at Villa Belong Dua! Can not fault anything. Fantastic food was cooked daily, gardens were immaculate, staff were always ready and eager to help and most friendly. I have been to Bali numerous times and this is the place I will go back to next time. Thanks Rahmat for a great holiday!”

KP, Hong Kong

April 1st, 2011 - April 5th, 2011

“Villa Belong Dua was the perfect choice for our family holiday. There were just four of us, 2 adults and 2 children, and this villa accommodated us perfectly. We loved the staff and were very sad to leave them! The design and upkeep of the villa was top notch. We would defintely recommend this to anyone planning a glimpse of the "real Bali". Very well organised, excellent service from BHM and could not fault the whole online booking process. Our stay was most memorable and the best of the three places we stayed in Bali. The food was superb and the pool/massage facilities so relaxing.”

Julie Brown, Australia

March 7th, 2011 - March 10th, 2011

“A perfect place in Seseh. When you´ll arrive you don´t aspect these beautiful place. The ground, garden and rooms are a dream. We leave with "tears in the eye" and come back soon as possible! Nice and professional Staff.. thanks to all of them!”

Cornelia Koenig, Germany

January 9th, 2011 - January 23rd, 2011

“My family had a wonderful stay at Villa Belong Dua. The distance from major areas was not a problem at all. Transport was easy to arrange & we LOVED being out of the busy parts of Bali. The village is so charming & the people of Seseh were extremely welcoming. We spent many days not even venturing out of the villa grounds - why would we when we had everything there that we could possibly need? The staff were wonderful & Frans does a fantastic job as chef. The pool is beautiful & the villa is very well maintained. We had friends visit who were staying in Seminyak & they just wanted to leave their villa & move in with us. It was all very impressive. ”

Nikki Jovicic, Australia

December 18th, 2010 - December 20th, 2010

“Fantastic swimming pool and particularly good location if you want to be just out Seminyak and Kerobokan but within easy reach...”

GN, Australia

November 20th, 2010 - December 2nd, 2010

“Stayed at a few villas in Bali, lived in Jakarta for 4 years, just to give youbackground.Rachmat the villa manager is a total standout, charming, thoughtful, creative and responsive to guests needs. He crosses over to the kitchen seamlessly when the cook is not present.He has a history in the service industry in 5 star resorts and it shows.The facilities of the villa are good for the price and a few nice surprises ie ipod docks.Seseh village was very welcoming of guests to their temple ceremonies. Travel back to the tourist belt of Kuta, legian etc is increasing as traffic multiplies each year. However the distance from the tourist belt, insures peace,quiet to explore and wander the local environs.To find a 2 bed stand alone villa of this calibre is a rare find. Respect to tradition was beautifully observed.Thank you for this experience.”

Marilyn Mitchell, Australia

August 19th, 2010 - August 22nd, 2010

“The 3 night break ended up being far too short, but that was our fault! The villa, staff and 'rest factor' were incredible. An ideal small family getaway. Sitting with the (excellent) chef to plan the days menu was a real pleasure as was lounging by the pool and scheduling massages, facials and other delights on a whim. Miles from anywhere else (so not for the clubbers) so a real option for the stressed family needing a recharge. Right in the midst of a Balinese traditional village, but we didn't even hear the chickens start up on the third morning, and that all adds to the charm. We'll be back. Highly recommended!”

RS, Singapore

July 17th, 2010 - July 24th, 2010

“The villa is best described as Dr Who's Tardis. We stepped out of the airport transfer into a back alley and then proceeded to enter a back yard/bike shed that did nothing to appease our apprehension. Then upon the turn of a corner an oasis appeared! The most remarkably kept grounds and tranquil walled setting I have yet to see greeted us along with the smiling faces of the staff who played the most gracious hosts during our stay. The appeal of the villa along with its ample sized pool kept us confined to its walls purely by choice for the next 24hrs. When we did venture out we were immediately taken in by a true Balinese experience of village life and people hard at work in the surrounding rice fields. When we wished to venture futher afield taxi's were provided within half an hour and with relations made with their drivers further trips were easily planned for the following days with the drivers making the most knowledgeable tour guides. All in all an excellent holiday enhanced by the villa which provides a retreat offering a more authentic Balinese Experience and just located Far From The Madding Crowd ”

PS, Singapore